Peace is a rare privilege

The over night cloudy skies, bring in a shady gloomy morning. The darkness of the day, settles under my eyes. I am exhausted without even beginning today.

I cover my face.

When I cover my face, my dresses look like they came with face covers. My face cover never stood out from me, it never appeared odd to anyone, nobody ever asked me to uncover. Nobody ever stopped me in the middle of the street, to observe the colour in my eyes. Suddenly, my presence does not bother anybody. I’m pushed to the backgrounds, to the sidelines, to the rear ends. I’m left with my thoughts.

Face covers are virtual doors. They’re equivalent to shutting doors on the world. They are equivalent to refusing help, leaving conversations, grabbing moments of solitude amidst buzzing bulevards. Amidst the hustle and bustle of a crowded room, which is louder than the voices in my head, I can still pay attention to the larger chaos inside my chest. When I cover my face and shut my eyes, peace is a rare privilege.

Leave a comment